Time to Dust!

The idea of taking up the cross with Jesus comes from the Gospel of Mark.  Luke adds one word, “daily.”  We are to take up the cross daily, not just on Fridays, and not when we feel like it today.

Commenting upon today’s Gospel, St. Basil the Great wrote:  Habits of life is a major impediment to taking up the cross daily.

What are my habits of life?  They are my bad attitudes, my comfort zones, my vain looks, my private schedules, my little kingdoms, my daily sloth and my self- righteousness.  These selfish habits of life prevent from joining Jesus on the Via Crucis.

So, how do I change them?  Spring cleaning.  Since I am dust and to dust I will return, I tend to be in need of spiritual spring cleaning.

Abbey Church Crucifix

Leave a Reply

