Carry the Truth

Both Moses and Jesus give us good Lenten advice:  choose life!  For Christians, that means we carry the cross with Christ, daily, St. Luke adds.

Carrying the cross is speaking the heavy burden of TRUTH daily.  Daily I speak the Truth to dictators, to oppressors and to hypocritical religious leaders. And daily I speak the truth to myself, to my dictatorial, oppressive and hypocritical self.

Not to do this means I forfeit my life.  And when I forfeit I give up, I do not play or I do not show up.

That is why I need the ashes.  Repent and believe in the Gospel.

Georgia O'Keefe Black Cross

Black Cross by Georgia O’Keefe, 1929

Photo credit:  Fr. Becket Franks, O.S.B.

Leave a Reply

