Gratitude On Thanksgiving Day

Once upon a time, Johnny Carson defined Thanksgiving.  He said, “Thanksgiving is an emotional holiday.  People travel thousands of miles to be” grateful “with people they only see once a year. And then discover once a year is way to often.”

St. Luke uses the word “eucharist” to describe the healed leper returning to Jesus to say “thank you.”  Eucharist means thanksgiving.  But it also means “gratitude.”

When someone shows me mercy, I say “eucharist,” gratitude.  When someone remains my friend in good times and in bad times, I say “eucharist,” gratitude.  When I realize God love me, when God heals me every day, I say “eucharist,” gratitude.

Today on Thanksgiving Day, like the healed leper, return to that person who demonstrates mercy and compassion, and say “eucharist,” gratitude.  However, once a year is never enough.

Image

2 responses

Leave a Reply

