Faith Learned by Risk

We too are those disciples in the boat sent by Jesus to the other side of the sea.  In the words of the early Church writer, Origen, “Faith is learned by risk.”  During the fourth watch of our nights, how will we manage the winds and waves of our lives?  Will we hold true to our faith, to our monastic vocation?

Reflecting on these questions, Aurelius Prudentius Clemens, an early Iberian Christian poet, writes this:

Thus I by my loquacious tongue

From the heaven of silence am led

Into perils unknown and dark.

Not as Peter, disciple true ,

Confident in his virtue and faith,

I am one who unnumbered sins

Have shipwrecked on the rolling seas….

How easily can I be shipwrecked,

One untaught in seafaring arts,

Unless you, Almighty Christ,

Stretch forth your hand with help divine.

3 responses

  1. Reblogged this on My CFS Life and commented:
    As I struggle with this disease and the effects of it on my life, as I desire so deeply to be ever more in love with God, I find myself praying sometimes with words and sometimes without, “I can’t do this without You.”
    This post by Fr. T. Becket A. Franks, O.S.B speaks deeply to me. I hope it speaks to the readers here as well.
    Peace.

  2. My wife had arrived from your South, so I was in good hands.
    Not only does a digger know that it is quite possible he may locate a
    lot of gold with little or no trouble, but, worse still, he
    knows he might work very difficult without getting any gold at all.
    Good fishing would have been to be been on this river all of the all year round, even
    during flood-time, then when the river was clear fish could be seen taking the bait at the depth of
    10 feet.

Leave a Reply

